• World Map on Facebook
    • World Map on Twitter
    • World Map on Pinterest
    • World Map on Youtube
    World Map / World Sports / Cricket - Updates


    About Cricket

    Cricket also called bat-and-ball game. Cricket was first played in southern England in the late 16th century. By the end of 18th century, itCricket Boundary acquired to be the national game of England. The expansion of the British Empire led to cricket being played overseas. The first International Cricket match was played in mid-19th century. In this game there is two teams each of 11 players. One of the two teams choose to Bat and the other choose to ball. The bowler throughs the ball towards the batsman on pitch and the batsman shots the ball towards boundary of Game field and runs to and fro to the end of pitch for collecting points. Pitch is the area between two batsman. At both end of Pitch there is three sticks stand called Wicket. Besides these Wickets the batsman stands. Two batsman stands at both end of pitch. From one end of pitch the bowler throughs the ball towards the batsman stand at other end of pitch. If the ball touches the boundary then the team gets 4 points called Four without running to and fro the pitch. If the ball touches the boundary or out of boundary without touching the ground in span then the team gets 6 points called Six without running in between pitch.

    ICC Full Members

    NationGoverning bodyMember sinceCurrent Test RankingsCurrent ODI RankingsCurrent T20 Rankings
    AustraliaCricket AustraliaJuly 15, 1909215
    BangladeshBangladesh Cricket BoardJune 26, 20009910
    EnglandEngland and Wales Cricket BoardJuly 15, 1909458
    IndiaBoard of Control for Cricket in IndiaMay 31, 1926622
    New ZealandNew Zealand CricketMay 31, 1926776
    PakistanPakistan Cricket BoardJuly 28, 1953363
    South AfricaCricket South AfricaJuly 15, 1909134
    Sri LankaSri Lanka CricketJuly 21, 1981541
    West IndiesWest Indies Cricket BoardMay 31, 1926887
    ZimbabweZimbabwe CricketJuly 6, 1992101013

    ICC Associate Members

    NationGoverning bodyMember since
    AfghanistanAfghanistan Cricket Federation2013
    ArgentinaAsociacion de Cricket Argentino1974
    BelgiumBelgian Cricket Federation1991
    BermudaBermuda Cricket Board1966
    BotswanaBotswana Cricket Association2001
    CanadaCricket Canada1968
    Cayman IslandsCayman Islands Cricket Association1997
    DenmarkDansk Cricket Forbund1966
    FijiFiji Cricket Association1965
    FranceAssociation France Cricket1998
    GermanyDeutscher Cricket Bund1999
    GibraltarGibraltar Cricket Association1969
    GuernseyGuernsey Cricket Board2008
    Hong KongHong Kong Cricket Association1969
    IrelandIrish Cricket Union1993
    IsraelIsrael Cricket Association1974
    ItalyFederazione Cricket Italiana1995
    JapanJapan Cricket Association1989
    JerseyJersey Cricket Board2007
    KenyaCricket Kenya1981
    KuwaitKuwait Cricket Association1998
    MalaysiaMalaysian Cricket Association1967
    NamibiaNamibia Cricket Board1992
    NepalCricket Association of Nepal1996
    NetherlandsKoninklijke Nederlandse Cricket Bond1966
    NigeriaNigeria Cricket Association2002
    OmanOman Cricket Board2014
    Papua New GuineaPapua New Guinea Cricket Board1973
    ScotlandCricket Scotland1994
    SingaporeSingapore Cricket Association1974
    SurinameSurinaamse Cricket Bond2002
    TanzaniaTanzania Cricket Association2001
    ThailandThailand Cricket League1995
    UgandaUganda Cricket Association1998
    United Arab EmiratesUnited Arab Emirates Cricket Board1990
    United StatesUnited States of America Cricket Association1965
    VanuatuVanuatu Cricket Association2009
    ZambiaZambia Cricket Union2003

    Last Updated : January 15, 2015